The French Invasion 2

Jane Fostin - Jane Fostin   

 

Shalom Family,

I’m not sure if many of you remember but some months ago I did a similar segment as part of my Throwback Sunday edition… Well today I’ve got another one for you. In Today’s French Invasion edition I would like to introduce you to a talented sista by the name of Jane Fostin.

Jane Fostin was born on the 27th of December 1973 in Basse Terre Guadeloupe to a musician father in a family of 7 children. Throughout much of her life, Jane grew with a strong passion for music. During her teenage years she was recognized for having an extraordinary voice and as such was encouraged to perform in various choirs and other local groups.

Jane Fostin, in her 20 years in the business has become labeled with a plethora of titles and nicknames, most notably, The French Whitney Houston. Others include, The Jungle Geisha, The Diva, Baby Jane and Lady Jane. Today she stands as one of the most enjoyed and beloved singers in France and the French speaking Caribbean. Jane Fostin was also a former member of the group Zouk Machine, which is a very popular music group that originated in Guadeloupe.

Just thought I’d give you a little background info on her.

With the introductions out of the way, allow me to further introduce the music of Jane Fostin, and first up is a personal favourite of mine “La taille de ton amour” which means The size of your love… Also, bear in mind that many of you may not be very versed in French so under the videos of her songs will be the translations.

Without further ado, here’s Jane Fostin with La Taille De Ton Amour

 

Translation

You promised me happiness
A life in flowers
That no poet would ever know to sing about
You promised me love
That the troubadours would have never imagined
So tell me why now am I always unhappy
Or was it that you really promised
Because you promised me heaven
I would like to understand
You were so tender
Could it be that that never was the case?

Chorus
So if you want tonight
Prevent my departure
We’ll have to see the size of your love
Where did our story go,
I cannot believe you anymore
Here I ask to see the size of your love

When you told me “I love you”
You added even
That you loved me like you had never loved anyone before
You often spoke of your love
You always said,
That nothing could match it
So could you tell me now
When I look back at those moments
Why is it that the life I’m living today
Is so far from what you’ve promised?

I want you to understand
I have so much trouble
With the idea that I was mistaken
So if you want tonight
Prevent my departure
We’ll have to see the size of your love
Where did our story go,
I cannot believe you anymore
Here I ask to see the size of your love

I want to understand, you were so tender
Could it be that that never was the case?
……tonight
……prevent my departure
…….The size of your love
……..our story
…….believe you
The size of your love

So if you want tonight
Prevent my departure
We’ll have to see the size of your love
Where did our story go,
I cannot believe you anymore
Here I ask to see the size of your love (x2)

 

The next song is Je Veux Vivre (I want to live)

 

Translation

In the morning, I wake up with it
I let myself go
I know the power it possesses
Which makes me vibrate

It travels in my soul
And I forget my tears
It keeps me in its arms
It dances with me

Chorus
I want to live in the middle of the music
To be free without ever leaving it
With it, everything becomes like magic
Because I know that it gives us the desire to love

Too often questions arise
which are useless
We would without mistake find our way to the horizon

It is the music of your heart,
The only voice of happiness
Listen to it and you will see
It will guide your path

Chorus
I want to live in the middle of the music
To be free without ever leaving it
With it, everything becomes like magic
Because I know that it gives us the desire to love

It travels in my soul
And I forget about my tears
It carries me in its arms
It dances with me

Chorus…….

This next song is called Dis Moi Pourquoi (Tell Me  Why)

 

 

Translation

Stop the earth
Stop or I will jump
Because this ride is making me dizzy

I lost a wing
And I came to fly once more
I lost a half of me
In the dead of the night

Here all alone I am cold
So cold without you
Deep in my body
Alone in this room
where everything seems so fake to me
Tonight I have fallen from on high

Chorus
Tell me why
have you put my heart in the winter ?
Tell me why
Have you left with the sun?
Tell me why
Why the arms of another
If this is my fault
Say it

You said that an angel
Had placed me on your path
That you had the chance
To live a love story
Like the ones you see in the cinema
And it all suddenly collapsed
All around me

My hands are shaking
Your voice haunts me
I’m afraid I have lost the reason
All alone in this room where everything seems so fake o me
Tonight I have fallen from on high

Chorus
Tell me why
have you put my heart in the winter ?
Tell me why
Have you left with the sun?
Tell me why
Why the arms of another
If this is my fault
Say it

Show me a sign, call me
I cannot go on with out knowing
If underneath it all I was wrong for loving you so much
If I’m still wrong for loving you

Chorus
Tell me why
have you put my heart in the winter ?
Tell me why
Have you left with the sun?
Tell me why
Why the arms of another
If this is my fault
Say it (x2)

If this is my fault, say it
If this is my fault, say it
If this is my fault, say it to me

 

This next song is called Pas De Glace ( No Ice) and on this track she is featured alongside fellow Guadeloupe singer Medhy Custos

 

Translation

If there’s still a little space in your heart sir
Don’t stay frozen
serve me against your soul

I overcome all challenges you give
And I invent a thousand ways
You will not be able to resist

no no no
I know you will not stay frozen
I told you no no no
It’s time for you to see what’s infront of you
no no no
I know you won’t stay frozen
It’s time to see what’s infront of your face

No ice
If your heart is suspended
No ice
And if you don’t understand everything
No ice
I will be the day from your nights
No Ice
I know you won’t stay
No ice
And if your heart disappears
No ice
The sentiments that you said
No ice
I will be the angel of your life

No ice
I tell you, I tell you

If there’s still a little space
between the lines of your life
Insert me like a paragraph
amoung the words that you read

I overcome all challenges you give
And I invent a thousand ways
You will not be able to resist

no no no
I know you will not stay frozen
I told you no no no
It’s time for you to see what’s infront of you
no no no
I know you won’t stay frozen
It’s time to see what’s infront of your face

No ice
If your heart is suspended
No ice
And if you don’t understand everything
No ice
I will be the day from your nights
No Ice
I know you won’t stay
No ice
And if your heart disappears
No ice
The sentiments that you said
No ice
I will be the angel of your life

No ice
You will no remain frozen

no no no
no no no
no no no

I will wait for the days to go by
Until we find ourselves infront
I’ll huddle deep in your heart
And I’ll watch while the hours go by

no no no… na na na
I tell you no no no
If there’s still a little space remaining
You will not stay frozen
it’s time to see the things in front of your face

No ice
If your heart is suspended
No ice
And if you don’t understand everything
No ice
I will be the day from your nights
No Ice
I know you won’t stay
No ice
And if your heart disappears
No ice
The sentiments that you said
No ice
I will be the angel of your life

No ice
You will not remain frozen

 

There are more songs from Jane Fostin but for now I will leave you with these, you can get a feel of her. Drop your thoughts in the comments, tell me what you think of her.

 

8 thoughts on “The French Invasion 2

  1. Kushite Prince

    You went way back for this.lol I haven’t heard these songs in a long time. She has a beautiful voice. These are nice videos. If I’m not mistaken I think she used to be in a music group. I wonder what she’s been up to. Haven’t seen her in years.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Kushite Prince

        I don’t think most Americans know her. Americans can be very arrogant when it comes to singers and actors. They have to be very huge international celebs to get recognition in the US. I only know her because I worked with a black woman from France. This was back in 1991. We were talking about great singers. I mentioned my favorites were Anita Baker,Patti and Whitney Houston. That’s when she brought up Jane. I had never heard of her. They don’t play her on the radio in the states. I had to do research about her. This is before YouTube and Facebook. I had to google her to find some information. But she has a great voice. If she was from the US she would be huge out here.

        Like

      2. nidotopianwarrior Post author

        Yeah that’s a crying shame ain’t it? There are so many talented artists that originated outside of the USA but most people would never know them because they’re not open and receptive to anything outside of their own bubble. Even here in the Caribbean, they’re so ignorant that if you listen to music that is in another language let’s say, French, Swahili or Arabic, they make fun of you and start talking all kinds of shit about, “you’re listening to Devil Music” and “You’re going to hell” and this is speaking from personal experience, I actually went through this in high school… It’s so funny that so many other cultures know so much about western artists and we don’t know a thing about theirs…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Kushite Prince

        Yeah more people should be open minded to listen to different types of music. I listen to music from people who speak different languages. People love to follow all things from the Western world because of their power and standing in the world. We do have great artists though. I grew up listening to Whitney,Prince,James Brown,Michael Jackson,Marvin Gaye and others. They are very talented icons in the music world. I understand why so many people love them around the world. But there are so many gifted artist around the world that don’t get enough shine. That’s something that needs to change. People should broaden their horizons and think outside the box. They are missing out on discovering great artists all around the world.

        Like

Leave a Reply

