Throwback Sunday: The French Invasion

Continued

You come like in a dream
And you fall asleep all against me
Like the sun who gets up
In my heart when I’m a bit cold
You smile and nothing is more tender then
Than the wind and the rain
who slide along your body

If the night scares you
Alone, at the very bottom of your heart
If you seek a friend, think of me
I will never be far away from you
And even if it’s every night
If I have to spend my life
Consoling you, I will be there
I will never be far away from you

You live like in my dream
You wake up all against me
Every day that starts
makes me have doubts, but you are there
Forever, in my joys in my desires
Forever, I would like to caress your smile

And even if you scream, if you cry
Even if men scare you
If their craze enchain your arms
I will never be far away from you
And even if tomorrow you forget me
If you dream of an other life
You can go away where you want to
I will never be far away from you

If the night scares you
Alone, at the very bottom of your heart
If you seek a friend, think of me
I will never be far away from you
And even if tomorrow you forget me
If you dream of an other life
You can go away where you want to
I will never be far away from you

always the differences
the echoes of silences
the walls have mysteries
1000 secrets
the frozen looks
then the fragile instances
when they fly away
millions of paper planes

with the turn of the wind in the middle of the town
all the children of the year 2000
are our hope for freedom for another eternity
a little love, a quiet corner
for the children of the year 2000
this is my prayer in the whole world
my reason for existing

let us leave them a chance
on this terrible earth
where they can find little more than a burning field
for those who have the power to build
in their bursts of laughter
a way to heaven
illuminated by the sun

with the wire of time in the middle of the city
alll the children of the year 2000
will make the colours and the ideas of another humanity
a little love, a quiet corner
for the children of the year 2000
this is my prayer in the whole world
my reason for existing

your smile always lives with me
on the walls and in the corners of my life
it either tortures me or delights me
I will gladly keep it with me
because it has never betrayed me
and here it will always be safe

If I hate, it’s not worth the trouble
it’s useless if love is a dilemma
then it’s the same for those we love

if life asks for it
I can understand her and I would never want to disappoint her
If life wants it that way
then she will learn that I’m ready to fight for you
even for you

this is only a memory now
so beautiful and we want it so much
a tender love becomes a torment
I’ll forget the slamming doors
the whimsical jumps in our moods
and stop being the arrow in your bow
If only the sweetness of our joys could follow me
all I never told you will remain buried in my heart forever

If I hate, it’s not worth the trouble
it’s useless if love is a dilemma
then it’s the same for those we love

if life asks for it
I can understand her and I would never want to disappoint her
If life wants it that way
then she will learn that I’m ready to fight for you
even for you
If I hate, it’s not worth the trouble
it’s useless if love is a dilemma
then it’s the same for those we love

if life asks for it
I can understand her and I would never want to disappoint her
If life wants it that way
then she will learn that I’m ready to fight for you
even for you

You speak about my life
You talk about where I come from.
Who I am
I am a woman of colour.

I come from where the sun shines,
Where people speak to each other without knowing each other
The wabes echo the sound of life,
And the birds sing at the window
The scent of freedom
The child with the mixed face
Who looks at his father
To see how to do things,
Good advice
Who will make of him the big brother
The hot sand which warms hearts
Simple words to speak of happiness
These memories which make you smile again,
The desire for singing my memories to you.

Refrain:
You speak about my life
You speak about where I come from.
Who I am
I am a woman of colour,
I have my island at the bottom of my heart
Gotta speak about it, speak about it
You speak about my life
You speak about where I come from
Who I am
I am a woman of colour.
I have my island at the bottom of my heart
Gotta speak about it, speak about it

I come from where the sun shines,
Where people speak to each other from the heart
The island winds made my life
An ocean of colors
Cultivate the difference
Move away from intolerence
Face my fears while thinking
None with softness while singing
The hot sand which warms hearts
Simple words to speak of happiness
These memories which you smile again
The desire for singing my memories to you.

Keep at the bottom of your memory
Who you are, where you come from.
I kept at the bottom of my heart
These images which make good

One wants to make us believe in lost myths
Parts of history are corrupted and re-examined
From Ramses to Mandela, (*)
So many unspoken truths (*)
By being unaware of the original story,
one wanders without goal

Makeda was queen, beautiful and powerful
Solomon dreamed of her black skin (*)
I sing to revive the memories
To exhume knowledge
That the spiral of time erases

The Queen of Sheba lives in me
Makeda lives in me.

Let us revive our memory
The history should be changed
History is being deformed by words….No
The knowledge and wisdom are within reach
Listen and pay attention

Makeda was queen, beautiful and powerful
Solomon dreamed of her black skin
I sing to revive the memories
To exhume knowledge
That the spiral of time erases

The Queen of Sheba lives in me
Makeda lives in me.

My people dance and sing
They express their joy (*)
Far from ignorance
They show their faith (*)

Blessed with men and values (*)
We repair the errors
Sons and daughters you and me
Ready for the fight

Makeda was queen, beautiful and powerful
Solomon dreamed of her black skin
I sing to revive the memories
To exhume knowledge
That the spiral of time erases

The Queen of Sheba lives in me
Makeda lives in me.

4 thoughts on “Throwback Sunday: The French Invasion

  1. Yanni Stalworth

    Oyoooooooo Hard to believe how much talent is out there…. Time for me to walk on the bougie side for a bit, I have a sudden craving for croissants

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

